Innovation
environments

OYS TestLab

OYS TestLab is a development and test environment for companies to test and develop their products and ideas in an authentic hospital environment and with genuine users. Oulu University Hospital uses the laboratory to develop their processes and to model and simulate building projects for the Future Hospital program.

At OYS TestLab, various hospital units can be built into open spaces: an operating theater, clinics, wards, control rooms, waiting areas etc. OYS TestLab has a 3D virtual space and capacity for testing 5G network.

Contact information

Timo Alalääkkölä, +358 40 561 4390, timo.alalaakkola(at)ppshp.fi

OuluZone

OuluZone Automation is a new R&D environment and center for car and working machinery technology, infrastructure construction automation, and robotics.

OuluZone Automation offers:

  • Modeling and surveying
  • Machinery testing and development, references, comparisons
  • 3D data and machine on-line control
  • The whole working area process
  • Autonomous and unmanned vehicle and machine testing
  • Machine-to-Machine communication with new networks (4G, 4LTE, 5G)
Contact information

Rauno Heikkilä, +358 40 5385840, rauno.heikkila(at)oulu.fi
Pirkka Tukeva, +358 40 542 9791, pirkka.tukeva(at)vtt.fi
Olli Lukkari, + 358 40 593 7465, olli.lukkari(at)businessoulu.com
Sanna Kivinen, sanna.kivinen(at)osekk.fi

Oamk SimLab and Oulu WelfareLab

Oulu University of Applied Sciences has a versatile simulation and studio environment ecosystem – Oamk SimLab, which can be used as a testing and development environment in the product development of health technology and welfare services.

Oulu WelfareLab is a test environment where the end-users are – at customers’ and patients’ homes and in all social and health care services within in the City of Oulu. You will get direct professional and customer feedback on your product.

Contact information

Oamk SimLab: Helena Heikka, +358 50 367 0341 helena.heikka@oamk.fi
Oulu WelfareLab: Jaana Kokko, +358 44 7034 030 jaana.a.kokko@ouka.fi

5G Test Network

5G Test Network is facility for R&D and testing in a realistic 5G network environment, and it is located at the premises of VTT and University of Oulu. Fully functioning, it will form a dynamic and heterogeneous platform for developing and testing new applications, services, algorithms, technologies, and systems.

5GTN is the world’s widest 5G Test Network with open access. It is developed as an innovation platform, focusing on future network technologies and end-to-end services. As a the complete 5G test system – from infrastructure to applications and services – allows unique testing possibilities from prototype devices to complete solutions in a controlled environment. 5GTN is facilitated by wide ecosystem as well as by public research and investment funding since 2014.

Contact information

Atso Hekkala, +358 40 751 5708, atso.hekkala(at)vtt.fi
Olli Liinamaa, +358 40 546 1418, olli.liinamaa(at)oulu.fi

PrintoCent Pilot Factory

At PrintoCent Pilot Factory, companies get easy access to new business development and pilot manufacturing resources for the introduction of printed intelligence components, systems and products from pilot production to early market trials. Application focus areas range from rapid disposable diagnostics, smart flexible lighting, wearable products to Internet-of-Things with sensors and energy harvesting.

Contact information

Ilkka Kaisto, +358 40 149 4006, ilkka.kaisto@vtt.fi,
www.printocent.net

MAPGETS

MAPGETS is an open visual 3D application platform. It offers a Software Development Kit (SDK) to quickly build new location based applications utilizing 3D technology and open application interfaces (API’s) plus an application store for publishing them. All in an easy to use browser based environment.

MAPGETS can be used as the platform for a wide range of applications designed for urban planning, asset management and process management.

Contact information

Anssi Savisalo, +358 41 538 9353, anssi.savisalo(at)fcg.fi